Hi,I am new to game development.

What I know already:
    1.Basics in C++.
    2.Can draw in autocad.(in 2D field)

What I am trying to learn:
    1.Win 32 programming
    2.3D studio max
    3.Adobe after effect

Goal:3D person action adventure world like prince of persia.
    Assume that sounds,textures,ingame scene,Gameplay concept,arts are ready.

What else I need to do this job? Thanks.

It really all depends on the area you wish to go into.

There are so many things you can do in the game industry but its picking out the right one for you.

If you know the area of what you want to do it would be more easier to give you a few tips.

-Kyle

Comment

Originally posted by MarsAssassin View Post
      It really all depends on the area you wish to go into.

There are so many things you can do in the game industry but its picking out the right one for you.

If you know the area of what you want to do it would be more easier to give you a few tips.

-Kyle
      Pardon me sir,what did you mean by "area"?
      Suppose I am gonna build a arena level where main character and boss will fight.So first I draw a rough picture of 2 characters in paper,export it(draw) to autocad or 3dmax,applying texture,then what to do?I cant go no further as I dont know what to do now.What type of knowledge or books I need to know after then?

I mean,some guy says that to make game you need to know dx api,some says you need opengl,some suggest to know AI etc.But what after what?

Thanks for replay.

Comment

MarsAssassins point is that normally you would have to specialize into a specific area, seldon do the programmer do the concept art, modelling and so on as well.

If you want to do an entire game by yourself, let's say with no complex issues and only basic content then go into programming in general, that's where most of the work will be.