Help finishing a PC Build for UDK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help finishing a PC Build for UDK

I'm completely new to building a PC (I've always bought pre-built systems)

So far this is what I'm eyeing:

Intel Core i7 2600k quad core processor
    1 Nvidia Gefore GTX 590 (Going for DX11 compatibility)
    1 7200rpm 1TB SATA HDD (Not sure on the brand yet)
    SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze 620W PSU

What I'm NOT sure on yet, is a proper motherboard or cooling system for this setup. I'm always not sure what type of case (I'm also going to be getting a CD/DVD and a wireless card since I don't have the ability to run ethernet cables into my bedroom, so I need a motherboard capable of handling all of this and a case with enough room for it)

Anyone have any suggestions on what to get to finish this setup (or if the components I've picked so far would be good). Even just a few examples of good parts would help me out.

My budget is probably anywhere between $1500 and $2000, maybe a little more if necessary. I would prefer to have UDK run lag free both in the editor and in game, but if there is a little bit of lag in this setup I just don't want it to be extremely noticeable considering right now the included maps in UDK have horrible FPS issues for me. (It would be nice to play other games on full settings as well.)

I know this is a lot to ask, but I don't have experience building a computer and figured this would be the best place to ask considering UDK/3D graphics are my top priority for this rig. Even pointing me in the right direction for one component will help greatly.

You'll need a better PSU than that, especially if you're getting a GTX 590.

Get at least 8GB of RAM

As for other stuff, go to Newegg and look at stuff with high ratings and check through the reviews,