Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Good Development Books?

Hi,

I'm a computer science student trying to get involved into games development. I basically want to get the necessary skills to be able to apply for a games industry job in a few years, reading a few books on the side. I already did a few of the UT-Video-Tutorials online here, but most of them are centered around designing, and I don't want to get into engine scripting right away, but rather get a general overview about games technology and the techniques engines use.
    Any developers in here that might give a list of good development books you had experience with?

I've got heaps of books that are useful so I'll just list the ones I think are essential for a CS games development student. I'll try to stick to one per subject.

Engine Design:
    - Game Engine Architecture.
    Maths:
    - 3D Math Primer for Graphics and Games Development. The link is to the first edition, I haven't looked at the 2nd edition yet.
    Physics:
    -Game Physics Engine Development.
    AI:
    - Programming Game AI by Example.
    Collision Detection:
    - Real-Time Collision Detection.
    Graphics:
    - Real-Time Rendering, Third Edition.

Those are my opinion for the best of the best, but I'm sure there is heaps other books for each of these subjects that are just as good. I'm sure other people will pipe in if there is ones that I have missed.

Comment

Originally posted by onethought View Post
      I've got heaps of books that are useful so I'll just list the ones I think are essential for a CS games development student.
      I'm just a normal computer science student, I always found myself fascinated by games development nevertheless. I thank you for your time!

Comment

Originally posted by fire2k View Post
        I'm just a normal computer science student, I always found myself fascinated by games development nevertheless. I thank you for your time!