im new to UDK(steam question)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

im new to UDK(steam question)

hello, im new to UDK and really havent tried working on any sort of game creation(besides rpg maker when i was like 12) and abusing the **** outta starcrafts mapedit. that aside, I'm still relatively familiar with the concepts behind programming - it all just comes down to knowing commands and syntax and ofcourse the proper application.(and often most resource efficient application)

while I dont know any languages to date(heck i probably cant even whip together an html these days) I have started the buzz3d tutorials and have already had a little fun with kismet... on the simple level tutorial he shows you how to make the door open on the trigger zone and close when you leave it and I've instead began experimenting with platform elements(as that is the game I'll be making) so i instead took a pillar and made it .3 scaled on the Z axis(fatty mwuahaha) and moved both the trigger zone AND the interp in matinee, and set it so that it goes back and forth while you are ontop of it - but it pauses when you jump off(or just jump up) which is pretty sweet cause i havent had to learn an ounce of unreal script yet... WOO

now the two questions I've got right now are in the vein of networking... in the game I'd like to create I need to know 2 things, one related to steam and the other related more or less to UDK(though might concern steam aswell)

the non steam question:

how many concurrent users can I have in the same enviroment? or rather - how many are supported natively by the engine, without calling in middleware or the likes... I'm going to be making a very unique take on an MMORPG - which luckily is alot easier to make than your typical MMOrpg, but it begs to question can I actually make it an MMO;

basically what I'm wondering - is wether it is feasible to have "world