Mastering Unreal Technology Books?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mastering Unreal Technology Books?

I was thinking about buying all the volumes to the Mastering Unreal Technology Books. My question is lies within whether or not it would be wise to do so seeing as it says Unreal Engine 3 and not UDK. I'm pretty new to the game programming and I want to learn as much as I can about the Unreal Engine and I figured UDK was my best bet but I also like to have books so I can go back and refresh anything at anytime. Video tutorials are good too but some people prefer the books you know?
    So can anybody tell me the difference between UDK and Unreal Engine 3 because on the site the only thing it said is that it is "uncompromised FREE version of Unreal Engine 3."

The biggest difference between a full UE3-license and UDK is the fact that UDK doesn't allow access to the sourcecode of the engine.

Comment

So everything else is exactly the same?

Comment

Which means you need to mod and hack your way around, not code with C++ and just make it so. However seeing how you pay nothing, and you not all that limited - It's not that big of a deal.

I think "uncompromised FREE version of Unreal Engine 3" is in reference to UDK.

I been waiting on Mastering Unreal Technology, Volume III: Introduction to UnrealScript with Unreal Engine 3 since February last year. It's now rolled to next month at Dec 10 2010 - Dec 13 2010. I doubt I'm seeing it before next year.

Comment

Hold on, you guys aren't making any sense and just confusing the hell out of me haha. I am ASKING if these books are useful towards UDK lol.

Comment

ehhh...