Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UDK Silent Installer

Hi

I'm a system administrator at a 16-18 education establishment trying to install UDK on batch of 40 machines for a Games Development course.

We use Microsoft Config Manager OS Deployment to install the machines within a Zero Touch format. To do this we use the slient install switches built into the installers.

Unfortunatly I have been unable to install UDK silently as it does not appear to contain any install switches.

Would it be possible in future releases to add this feature into UDK? This would be great help as it would prevent me from having to visit each machine everytime a update is released (This happens to be about once a month at the moment).

You shouldn't need to reinstall UDK every month. If you do this, you're going to introduce incompatibilities with existing student projects when features are replaced or altered.

Comment

You'll have to create your own custom installer for UDK using NSIS etc. Just use all extracted data from the installer to generate your own installer.

For the pre-requisites, you can extract them at installation time, run them individually, in silent mode, then delete temp files.

As a shortcut, you could use the UDK Frontend to create an NSIS installer for UDK itself (use a blank manifest file, with at least 1 root element). Then run that installer using 'InstallerName.exe /S'

Comment

Silent or Migrated Install?

I'm moving my question to support; continuing this thread from General Discussion doesn't seem like the proper location to me.

Comment

I'm with RussH. It would be super nice not to have to repackage UDK every time a new release comes out simply because it doesn't support any command line flags for a silent installation.