Lights, Cameras, Collisions Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lights, Cameras, Collisions Questions

Hey guys, I am fairly new to the Unreal world, so I don't know many technical things.

First of all - Is it possible to create "negative light"? I want one of my rooms to appear as if it is a bottomless pit. Is there some sort of way to make a black-colored area light at the bottom?

#2 - I followed Hourences tutorial to get a working 3rd person camera. I am now trying to create a short camera animation in the middle of my game. It's one of those parts in a game where you hit a switch and it opens a door and the camera shows you which door in the level opens. I got the small cutscene to work using a DirectorGroup and CameraGroup. However, once the 4-second-long cutscene ends, it switches back to the character camera, but the character has disappeared! The only thing remaining is his gun. Any ideas on why the character disappears or how to fix it?

And finally #3 - I have made a downward-twisted cylinder that can be walked into (much like a twisted slide at a park, but a full cylinder). I am having the toughest time creating a collision for it. Is there an easy way of creating a collision for this cylinder? Or am I seriously going to have to place a bunch of convex shapes around it until I can't walk through it?

Thanks a lot!

1. Negative light isn't recommended... Not even sure if it's gonna work. You can use height fog inside your pit instead.
    2. Not sure what's happening but might have to take a look at the kismet/matinee setup.
    3. If your cylinder mesh is fairly simple, you can simply check off "Use Simple Box Collision" in your static mesh property. If your mesh is very high polygon, your collision cylinder should have a thickness inside.

Comment

Yeah, negative light didn't work too well.... How do you go about creating and boxing in height fog?