Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

No Free Lunches! Put your money where your mouth is.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No Free Lunches! Put your money where your mouth is.

I've been talking about this in a few threads recently, and I'd really like to get some feed back. I've been working as a freelance illustrator for a few years now, I probably earn around $200 a month; it makes like a little easier, gives me some cool projects to do and I get by allright with that + Australian wellfare system or study pension when i study.

Anyway, my issue is that there is to many people asking for a free-lunch in the indieGame community, I mean if your a fan of warhammer and this is what you enjoy, then your probably going to spend $100 a month on paints or models, if your a car enthusiast your going to spend money on your car, if you like movies you'll probably spend money on that to.. I've spend about $100 on my Mod so far and I've had a few scenery assets made and some of the conceptart is almost done, not much but it will accumulate over the months, largely things have been a bit slow cos i need to comlpete the GameDevDoc.

So why aren't people spending money on their indieGames? There are so many great artists and programmers who are willing to do alot of work for a very very fair rate and they deserve it. If we as independent developers are going get away from the middle men and publishers who cut into developers profits then we've got to show them and ourselves that we're professional.

I dont think we need this sudden gap in our industry of going from working for free to working full time.

Totally over seeing "non-paid" threads.

Comments?

_Daz