Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Animated Normal Map....how?

Hey there.
    I'm pretty new to UDK. I've done quite a bit of skeletal mesh import & support but am looking to take our animated models a bit further using animated normal maps in areas like knees, elbows and waist.
    Is it possible with either in the material editor, animTree, morph targets, or some combination thereof? Maybe through an anim notify?

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks,
    Alec

Why would you need to animate the normals on joints?

Comment

Oh. No, not the joints themselves. More likely an animated normal map on the mesh's texture that's driven from an anim clip or some external value....or whatever others think is a good idea.

Comment

[Edit: mixed up the order]
        In the material editor you could hook up a rotator node to a texture coordinate node to your normal map sample

On the material editor it would look like:
        NormalMap <- Rotator <- Texture coordinate;

Or you can look at other pre-existing materials that move and see how they do it.

Comment

Thanks Matt.
          I'll take a look at the rotator. I need to dig into a way to activate it. If I can get my editor to stop crashing (not a UDK or UE3 problem) then I'll look at the notifiers to see if I can key the blend to start happening at a given part of an animation clip.
          Thanks again.
          Alec

Comment

I don't think rotating the normal map will do what you want. I believe what you're looking for is blended normal maps. Like if a character has facial animation it'll blend a different normal map for wrinkles in the skin.

I would think there would be some way of doing that but I haven't looked into it that much.

Comment

Make a parameter input to a LERP in your material and control it with Unrealscript and animation data e.g the more a joint is bent the more the parameter is used. This is turn makes the normal maps plugged to the LERP fade between each other.