Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Building 2km square terrain - ideas and implementation

Hi All

A project I am working on involves building a piece of terrain around 2km square, with only one square km in the middle being available for movement and the rest just filling out the background.

I am quite new to UDK and need to know the best way to build this terrain. I guess my two options are:

Terrain Tool
    Static Mesh(es)

I like the terrain tool and how you can add foliage layers and also paint different textures right on. I'm not too sure about how far you can push these materials though. For instance, can you add an overiding normal map to the whole terrain, that blends with the individual material normal maps?

I'm picturing modeling the terrain in UDK, then exporting to Zbrush to add more detail and generating a normal map to apply back to the terrain object. Not sure if it's possible though...

Finally, if I choose to go the static mesh route, is it possible to set up materials to mimick the terrain painting process? ie - paint straight onto the static mesh with blending and so forth?

For what it's worth, the terrain will have quite a lot of things like rocks, grass, trees etc.

Thanks for the help

There's a tutorial on unreal developer network where they show how to apply a 4096x4096 normal map onto a terrain. So adding additional detail in zbrush is definitely a good way to do it, you just have to figure out the export/import/export hassle :P

Comment

I'm not sure any normal map is going to be appropriate to use on that kind of macro-scale. On a 2km across terrain, each pixel on the largest possible normal map (4096x) is going to represent about half a meter - quite visible?

Comment