Got my book yay.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Got my book yay.

Woot. I got my Mastering Unreal Technology book volume 1 today. I would have had it Saturday but i missed the post so had to collect it at the posty today. I missed the post by only 6 mins as well on saturday Carnt wait to get stuck in. I will give you updates on how im finding it. Although i will not clog the forum with them though. Your not kidding when you said its a big book, i opend it up and my mum even said. What your gunna do with that?. lol.

Well il get down to bussiness now and start reading bits of it at a time so i dont take too much in at once.

I'm getting all Three of these bad boys !!

Comment

The only thing is like some one said be for on this forum that the book uses Subtractive brushes where in the tutorials from udk website there in addtitive brushes which im use to doing. So shal i follow the books subtravtive brushes or use the additive brush what im use to and tweek certain parts?

Comment

Use both Additive and Subtractive.

Additive for External and Subtractive for Internal or outdoor terrain like mountains etc.

Comment

Hi. What i mean is when you first open up the UDK its and press create new level and the diolog box comes up asking what geometry style you want. Addetive or subtractive in the book it says choose subtractive and click ok. But in the videos on UDK it tells you to choose Addertive. If you no what i mean. Its A bit different using the Subtractive method then im use to.

Comment

Oh OK. Are there any tutorials in the book and online that are the same but one is additive and the other is subtractive?

Comment

From my understanding additive is the way to go for most construction routes. Subtractive should be used sparingly as it can be more resource demanding. Ironic as the older versions of Ued called for the subtractive method.

Comment