Spawn actor on ground within radius of a given location

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Spawn actor on ground within radius of a given location

I'm looking to write a script that can spawn an actor at a random location within a given radius of a location. And also so that it is on the floor (not floating in the air or under the floor).

I'm a bit of a noob working with these kinds of scripts. Could anyone offer some advice as to how I should attempt this?

Thanks in advance

I'd recommend writing it up as a function that takes a vector and the radius as inputs and returns the spawned actor (or None if one couldn't be spawned).

Code:
    function Actor SpawnActorNearLocation(vector SpawnRadiusCenter, float SpawnRadius)
    {
          /// Logic
    }
    Generating a random vector is a pretty elementary exercise. There are lots of ways you could explore doing it, with varying effects. One method would be to work in polar coordinates, picking a random angle Theta between [0, 2 Pi], and a random length between [0, Radius]. Those, plus your starting location, will give you a random location somewhere within your radius.

To place the actor on the floor, you'll want to pick a random location and then trace straight down until you hit something. Then, you just need to spawn the actor itself at the location found by the Trace function.

The functions Trace() and Spawn() can both be found in Actor.uc

Comment

You can try by using:

native final function bool FindSpot(vector BoxExtent, out vector SpotLocation);

or if using navMesh, you can use:

NavigationHandle.GetValidPositionsForBox()

or create your own Random function:

Code:
      function vector RandomLocation()
      {
      	local vector result;

result = BoundingBox.Min;
      	result.X += FRand() * (BoundingBox.Max.X - BoundingBox.Min.X);
      	result.Y += FRand() * (BoundingBox.Max.Y - BoundingBox.Min.Y);

return result;
      }

Comment