Spawning Prefabs in UnrealScript

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Spawning Prefabs in UnrealScript

Please note: This is a nearly done work in progress - its stable and can be used, but there could be some bugs and / or inefficient mistakes around the place. Feel free to command and ask questions, and post if you find or have any issues.

Also note that I'm still learning to program (but really who isn't?) - I've come far, but do have a lot lot more to go in learning UnrealScript, so bear with me should I say that's wrong or inaccurate. I welcome feedback and would love to have my work corrected, should a more efficient / better-standard way of doing something exists. I've got to learn somehow .

Also note I'll likely post a link to a video showing off this feature once I've got the rest of it working (Prefab spawning is fine - its issues relating to doors right now).

Now on with the show...

One of my projects was making a game similar to Rouge Legacy - A great game which features in it a randomly generated castle layout. While this tutorial is not directly about that, I will go into the principle behind the creation of the layout:

The idea is that you have a grid system of x by y squares. Each room is a quadrilateral with four right angles - that is to say, a rectangle. Regardless of the interior shape, the exterior is always a rectangle. Hence its very simple (in theory) to work out if a room can fit on the grid location picked out, because while a room could feature curves on the interior, its still always a rectangle. You do this EVEN if the space given wont be used AT ALL. Hence you end up with some rooms have one or two squares that have no content (such as the corner rooms in Rouge Legacy).

However before each room can be spawned, they need to be made. The answer to this is Prefabs.