Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trouble creating a custom jump function

Hello,

Relatively new to UnrealScript and the UDK environment, but I've been coding for a few years. I've been trying to create a custom jump function for a sidescroller I'm working on. I wasn't really impressed with the StarterPlatformKit's jump that came with it, I was looking for more of a Mario style jump where you go up as you hold the key and then come down after release. For simplicity's sake I'm just trying to get the character to go up when space is held and then to come back down after release, after that I'll implement a max height and a timer to stop the player after a certain time has passed. So far all I've managed to do is to have my key presses and releases recognized by the game via custom functions attached to the spacebar from DefaultInput.ini, but I have had absolutely no luck in getting a character to actually jump. I've googled and googled and had no luck in figuring out what you have to manipulate to get the character to actually rise.

I'm attaching the TestPawn class that has the custom functions I've defined.

Any push in the right direction would be greatly appreciated!

Code:
    class TestPawn extends UDNPawn
    	dependson(UDNPawn);

simulated function Tick(float DeltaTime)
    	{
    		local vector tmpLocation;
    		super.Tick(DeltaTime);
    			tmpLocation = Location;
    			tmpLocation.Y = 500;
    			SetLocation(tmpLocation);
    	}

exec function NewJump()
    	{

worldinfo.game.broadcast(self, "TESTING JUMP FUNCTION");
    	}

exec function Fall() 
    	{
    		worldinfo.game.broadcast(self, "TESTING FALL FUNCTION");

}

function bool Dodge(eDoubleClickDir DoubleClickMove)
    	{
    		return false;
    	}

defaultproperties
    	{
    	  ControllerClass=class'Test.TestBot'
    	  bCanStrafe=false
    	  MaxStepHeight=50.0
    	  MaxJumpHeight=96
    	  JumpZ=550
    	}