Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Implementing ServerBrowser Functionality with Steam

Hi all,

as promised in a different thread, here's a little tutorial on how to implement some basic functionality for a Server-Browser using Steam.
    Please note that it's already quite late at my place and i'm back from a long D3 Session, so some stuff in this tutorial may sound a bit weird

What i WONT explain here:
    - How to build the UI for the ServerBrowser (i'm a coder, not a UI-Designer :P )
    - Where to put the Classes (if you really want to integrate steam, you should know what to do here)

First, the necessary configuration changes:

In your DefaultEngine.ini:
    Set GameDir to something that would be unique to your game. This will differ your game from all the other UDK-Servers out there.
    Also, set the NetworkDevice to Steamworks.
    Code:
    [OnlineSubsystemSteamworks.OnlineSubsystemSteamworks]
    GameDir=fbmtest

[Core.System]
    NetworkDevice=OnlineSubsystemSteamworks.IpNetDriverSteamworks
    If you want some debugging Output in the logfiles, you can open UDKEngine.ini and remove
    Code:
    Suppress=DevOnline
    Suppress=DevOnlineGame
    But note that with the next Refresh of the Configfiles, these changes will be automatically overwritten.

So, your configuration is now setup.

Lets get to code something.

Step 1: Creating the needed classes

What do we need? Well, we need to
    - tell UDK what Settings we want to have for our game and
    - what the SearchSettings are that we want to use

GameSettings:
    This class will hold stuff like the ServerName, MapName etc.
    The interesting stuff is
    - the steamserverid, since this is our server-connection to steam. This one will be filled automatically by the OnlineSubsystem
    - the inclusion of some constants (which makes it easier to access the properties)