Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Join/Connect to Local Server Button Not Working - Please help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Join/Connect to Local Server Button Not Working - Please help!

Hi,

Recently I've been attempting to create simple "host" and "join" buttons through flash and udk following this tutorial:

http://forums.epicgames.com/threads/...onnection-Menu

As I'm not a coder, I've been trying to adapt the instructions there to kismet. I have the host button working, but not the join button.

This is my actionscript and a picture of my menu interface:

Code:
    import flash.external.ExternalInterface;
    import flash.system.fscommand;

// variable to hold the hosts ip address
    var ip:String;

// client ///////
    // call Joining function when join button is clicked
    join_mc.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, joining);

function joining(evt:MouseEvent):void{
     ip = ip_mc.text; // make ip variable whatevers typed into the TextInput
     //ExternalInterface.call("JoinFunction", ip);
     fscommand("join");
    }
    As you can see I've commented out the externalinterface call for now in favour of using an fscommand via kismet. Testing the SWF on its own and hitting ctrl+alt+v tells me the string variable is enabled and working, but UDK doesn't seem to recognise it. Here is my kismet attempt:

The fscommand "join" connects to a console command. I tried using the "open "$ip" found in the unrealscript tutorial I posted earlier (without the quotation marks), as well as open ip, but it just says in the console there is no map called that.

So! From what I understand, the problem is that UDK isn't recognising the ip variable typed into the box? I've read a bit about GFxGetVariable nodes in kismet, but have no idea how to connect the dots. Any help would be much appreciated!

Still trying to figure this out using invoke actionscript and get variable nodes, but no luck. This is what I've got at the moment: