Recommended Flash Learning Resources?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recommended Flash Learning Resources?

I know absolutely nothing about Flash. I would like to pick up a book and was wondering what some of you seasoned Flash artists would recommend? There are a lot of options out there and many are highly regarded but I would like to know if there is anything that might be better suited to get me started with Scaleform/UDK.

Before you read on I must say that I have absolutely never used Flash before I started with the UDK/Scaleform.
    I'm also nothing of an graphical artist: I'm a programmer.

What I did was starting at the easiest (imo) scaleform thing in the UTGame: the HUD.
    I looked at how the original was build (both in Flash and it's AS aswell as the UnrealScript) and created a new file and made a HUD that would work with the UDKGame code.
    Then I added some fade animations etc in the Flash and extended the UTHudWrapper class to make use of those animations.

After that I went on and made a HUD using my own UDK project (own UnrealScript codebase; no UT stuff). Because I tried on the UTGame first, it was easy for me to make a Scaleform HUD using my own code.

Ofcourse self-teaching might not be your thing but for me going from the base/original, then extending from that and then creating one by/for yourself without use of existing stuff (except in my case art assets for now) works pretty well.
    There are also some Scaleform tutorials around. Look at the sticky's on this forum.

Comment

Flash tutorials have proliferated the internet, you can find approaches that will likely be within spec for what you need for your UI quite quickly with a little time on google.