Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Importing UV Map to create Material resulting in bizarre colours & look

Hello everyone!

I'm pretty new to UDK and modelling etc so I may a bit slow, so . . . sorry about that ^^. Now my problem, I've made a wooden texture for a bookcase I've made in 3DS Max, I apply the the texture in 3DS max, it looks quite nice and I was happy. Then I import it into to UDK and everything goes wrong, so from that I'm assuming I'm importing it incorrectly or missing a setting or two. What happens is that it goes all stripey like a 1990's computer and the top goes all yellow. I've added a few print screens to show you what I mean.

The Texture:

3DS Max

UDK

My guess is something is wrong with your material in 3ds Max. Make sure your texture map is the correct format, and that it is a resolution that's a power of two. Also make sure your material is a standard material and that it's using a regular bitmap as the map type.

Comment

Originally posted by darthviper107 View Post
      My guess is something is wrong with your material in 3ds Max. Make sure your texture map is the correct format, and that it is a resolution that's a power of two. Also make sure your material is a standard material and that it's using a regular bitmap as the map type.
      Hey bud, thanks for the response. I'm making the material in Photoshop and it works fine in both 3DS Max and Photoshop and when I create just a simple brown, just a "filled-in" brown it still doesn't work in UDK but does in 3DS and PS. The resolution is 1024x1024 and it's a PNG. And as for the "regular bitmap as the map type" I'm not quite getting what you mean.

Comment

Textures are used as a Bitmap map type in 3ds Max, that would be compared to things like Noise, Mix, Mask, etc. If it's not a Standard material or a bitmap texture then it's not going to export correctly.