Skeletal Mesh Reversed Normals Problem

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Skeletal Mesh Reversed Normals Problem

So, Im still fairly new to UDK. Im working on a project with classmates for a Course Project. One of the items in our game is a Candelabra. I have modeled the candelabra in 3DS Max. I have the middle stem and the arms as separate models, as well as the two Skinned to the same bone structure (the candelabra is going to be a pickup "weapon").

In Max you can see everything is fine with the model. However, upon Importing it into UDK, the arm model consistently has its normals reversed to point inward.

I've read about smoothing groups, doesnt fix it; Ive read about Max's Edit Normals, Tangents and Binormals, and Explicit Normals, doesnt fix it. The only real odd thing I did with the model was using the Bend modifier to create the 90 degree bend in the arm model, followed by mirroring and welding the middle vertices together.

If I have to I'll remodel the thing from scratch, but Id hate to waste a perfectly good model I spent a good time creating. Any help will be most appreciated!

PS Yes I know that the model is super high on the poly count, but at this point the amount of polygons doesnt matter (as Ive adjusted it up and down too), I just need the normals to be facing the correct way!

You don't have to redo the model, there should be an option to "recalculate" the face normals in Max (a Max user can tell you the correct procedure). Tools like Max usually draw polygons regardless of the direction their normals are facing, but game engines use the direction to avoid drawing polygons that face away from the camera. Essentially, the polygons on this area of your mesh are 'inside out' and just need their normals flipping.

There may be an option for back-face culling to visualise this in Max.

Comment