material's and UV's in blender

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

material's and UV's in blender

Hi ,I am a still a beginner at modelling, now I cam make decent meshes but I need some help with 3 things

first I need to know how to apply multiple materials to a mesh and weather its better to make a mesh as one solid mesh or two meshes/segment's put together. for example if I made a TV and wanted the screen shiny and the rest dull would I be able to apply two materials to it if it was all one set of linked vertices or would the screen have to be a separate single plane.

My second question is about multiple UV's. now I know how to make a model with multiple UV's but when I import to the UDK and rebuild lighting it gives me a warning about overlapping textures and I want to know how to fix this.

And third how do I choose the UV channel in blender so when I import to the UDK I can set it up better, for example if I had 3 UV's I want the first UV in channel=0 the second in channel=1 and the third in channel=2.

also in the export option what's the difference between "linking to object" and "linking to objet data".

I use blender 2.64 and I know these basic questions will have been asked before but any help would be appreciated.

You can apply two different materials on a single mesh, give them two different materials inside blender and export as FBX. Although it will be tricky in UDK because the static mesh viewer doesn't allow you to specify materials like the skeletal mesh viewer does, so you'll have make sure the content browser creates your materials upon import. This also makes sharing of materials between static meshes difficult.