Announcement

Collapse

The Infinity Blade Forums Have Moved

We've launched brand new Infinity Blade forums with improved features and revamped layout. We've also included a complete archive of the previous posts. Come check out the new Infinity Blade forums.
See more
See less

3d Modelling

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3d Modelling

I'm kinda new to modelling, so what is the best program for 3d modelling?

I heard Maya and 3ds max, which one is easier to use?

I've used both for more than 10 years. Max is the way to go for polygon modeling.

Comment

Is there any good 3d modelling software that's free? I'm reading that 3ds max and maya cost thousands of dollars >.>

Comment

Indeed they're both quite expensive products but in my opinion they worth the money. The free way leads to Blender. It can do pretty much the same stuff as Max or Maya.

Comment

The thing is: Max/Maya/C4D and others are expensive because their development is not cheap. The software is industry standard and (nearly) free of bugs and flaws.

And here comes Blender: It's is Freeware, it's not developed by a paid (yes I know, it once was) team of programmers, it's made by people who like doing that in their freetime. You can't expect such high quality software there. One of the biggest flaws of Blender is (warning, opinion) the interface.

But you have to decide that. Give it a try

Comment

lightwave, modo, cinema4d, softimage, are all under 1000K USD, per seat. So that's cheap compared to the pricing of 3dMax and Maya packages.

Some fact based background about the manufacturer of 3dMax and Maya:
            when Maya was still owned by Avid, through subsidiary alias wavefront, they had a PLE version, and discounts all the time, since autodesk (formerly known as discreet), took over, they quickly abondoned those versions!