Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Normal and Specular maps look different in-game.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Normal and Specular maps look different in-game.

I've imported a model I made, the materials look fine in the preview window but after compiling the light it looks different in-game (looks ugly).

Here's what it looks like in a 3ds Max shader:

The preview window:

In-game (seems normal/specular don't work or they're very low quality):

I want it to look like in the preview window or the 3ds Max viewport shader, I'm not sure what to do, I'm new to UDK.

The main reason for the different look is because in Max you get a proper real time shading and in the UDK by default you will get kind of not proper real time shading. When you compile the map and create light maps.. etc.. the shading gets kind of washed and then all you are left with is the specular highlight to suggest any kind of "bumpyness" of the surfaces. You kind of lose the impact of what a normal map is supposed to give you in a full real time shading.

Also, on top of that, the specular in my experience tend to be weaker by default in the UDK compared to Max, so in the material it's usually easy to fix that by multiplying the spec a bit to make it stronger if needed of course.

So, in UDK to achieve this shading you have to rely on full real time lighting without any light maps. That's kind of a big trade off so you should consider what you want and do your lighting and stuff accordingly.

But with all that said, your shot looks like it's under pretty harsh lighting and if you did more controlled and contrasted lighting you may get better results. It won't match the look you get in Max view port but it can be a lot better. It's a matter of preference really and a matter of lighting trade offs. I've gone through this myself and for me the choice is easy.. go real time all the way.. death to light maps!...

Comment

And how do I do this? Any tutorials around?