Normal map artifacts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Normal map artifacts

Hi, I have some strange artifacts with my normal maps.
    The normal map is done with xnormal and the model with 3dsmax, and was baked with a single smoothing group.

The artifacts comes from the normal map, as you can see in the material editor.
    But the normal map image seems to be clear and fine..

I've tried changing the normal map to uncompressed and the artifacts dissappear, but It's supposed that I should use compression, shouldn't I?

Any idea?

I'm no expert on compression but I know that with compression the thing that suffer most is pure gradients. So in your case here because your low poly model has a single smoothing group, the normal map has to do a lot to compensate the shading back to a flat shading, which means heavy gradients in the map. So, in stead of messing with compressions or that stuff, rather sort out the smoothing groups first to get a cleaner normal map and then after that it's possible the compression won't have much impact anyway. But even if it did, then you have a better starting point to try sort that out.

Comment

Thank you obihb, that makes sense for me.
      I thought that I could use 1 smoothing group for that kind of objects with hard edges (not at all, in some corners the edges are beveled).
      What you said is the same that I've been reading in other forums. For this sort of models is better to make different smoothing groups.
      But this would increase the vertex count and other artifacts from the seams, I believe..

Sometimes you don't know what is better: Use normal map compression or increase vertex count with the smoothing groups, increase polygons or vertex counts,...

Comment