New to the modeling world.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to the modeling world.

ok so im a total noob when it comes to modeling and skinning and creating the animation rigs, etc...

so i want to create the characters for my game, and i need to know the line to follow in the creating process , like a step by step guide , i know that i need to learn to model characters ok, but let's suppose that i already finished my character ,how to create the bone structure for the model so i can use it in udk,(i guess that's the animation rig), how to name the bones and all of that stuff, and then how to create the animations for the character and finally how to import the complete character with everything on it to UDK.

Any tutorials or help would be appreciated. thanks!

not trying to be mean but have you tried google? .. you need to understand basic rigging before you move into brining it into udk

Comment

well i made a model sometime ago using milkshape, and also made the skeleton for this model, and then the animations, so i have the main idea, but don't know if it's gonna be like the same process

Comment

the work flow depends a lot on the 3d prog your using, also do you need to use a custom rig, if not try using the UT3 rig

Comment

i've just downloaded the file UT3_Male and im looking at him to understand how the character it's done, i need something like a step by step tutorial on how to create my character in 3ds max.

as far as i know i ned to do this:
          1. delete the meshes from the UT3_Male model
          2. start creating mines
          3. skin the model
          4. divide the model in parts and assign each part to the corresponging bone

please help me fill these steps and fix the mistakes, i need like understand the global idea to start working step by step on this.

Comment

1. delete the meshes from the UT3_Male model don't forget to unhide all then delete

2. start creating mines (uvw map + 2 textures)