Where to start, becoming profecient with 3Dsmax for static meshes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Where to start, becoming profecient with 3Dsmax for static meshes

As an aspiring level designer (recreational) one of the most critical tools I need to develop is a proficiency for 3Dsmax, specifically for modeling static meshes. Where would you recommend beginning this journey, e.g. books you might recommend, youtube vidoes etc.

Also, to become good at modeling static mesh objects such as pipes, cars, or statues does one themselves have to be a good artist grounded in traditional arts? I have an artistic eye but myself I am not an artist.

many thanks

I would start with the tutorials that ship with max. Specially if you're using max 2010 (with the new graphite modeling tools, they awesome!). Its a good start to learn the technique and get familiar with max.

Once you learned the basics , go on and google for tutorials. Youtube is also a good learning source.

Comment

Lol, first person I've seen who actually likes Graphite :P, as for where to start, like Sid said the tutorials that ship with max 2010 are pretty good and give you a overall start to how to model properly. There are also a ton on the web, visit sites like 3dbuzz/polycount/game-artist ect they all have a massive listing of tutorials in varying difficulties.

Comment

Aside from what has already been suggested, my recommendation for you is simply practice, practice and practice. Model anything you fancy, start with the simplest (least complex) inanimate objects and work up from there... and always challenge yourself to make the model exactly how you intend it to be.

Don't bite off more than you can chew by trying to create more complex objects then you can wrap your head around, dont be afraid to experiment with different techniques to achieve the same result, and learn the interface like the back of your hand.