Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Optimal map scaling for open world racing game

Hello,

Me and some friends want to try to make an open world street racing simulation game, to play by ourselves and with our other friends. I work as a programmer in a R&D company, and I have some modeling and level building experience, mostly for other games. For UDK, I've only created a small map for FPS so far, so I don't know much about UDK yet. My other friends also have some modeling and coding experience, so we are not complete novices, but we're not experts either.

For the game, we want it to be multiplayer, not exactly MMO, but it should be able to run with a single dedicated server and fit 20-30 players. It will have a huge open world map, where we will be cruising around, buying cars from car dealers, fix damage in services, modify them in tuning shops, and drive to races, just like games such as Test Drive Unlimited and Need For Speed Underground 2. 3 main differences though, the races will not take part on the main map, but on separate maps with mostly real life tracks or locations; It will have a huge amount of cars, like maybe over 1000; and the driving physics will be very realistic, we're aiming at simulator level of realism, look at rFactor 2 and Assetto Corsa to see what I mean.

Since it's a private project and it's not gonna be released to the public, there should be no problem easing our load by converting assets from other games, for example car models from Forza 4 and tracks from iRacing and such. The open-world hub map will be done from scratch, though. And this is the main reason I'm writing this topic, as you might have guessed from the title.