Large map creation help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Large map creation help

Hi guys, i am new to UDK and to the forum, i have been dabbing around in UDK for a while now. Right, down to business, I am busy attempting to create a HUGE map, and by huge i mean the whole of Elder Scrolls map. I am currently using level streaming but i have noticed that you cant build your map larger than the 10KM UDK gives you. For example, i have 1 continent, the size of it is 4033x4033 i know you guys may think im crazy for going so large, but lets pretend i know what i am doing, how could i create more than 1 continent of 4033x4033 and being able to stream it in UDK? Or would i have to make the entire "World" in that 4033x4033 and then scale down all objects, characters, etc etc etc?? Basicaly, what i would like to create is something like this

This is the map of Tera the MMORPG game being developed with UDK.

There are so many threads about this.... you could jsut load aother map after those 10 km

Comment

Hi, if it is not to much of a problem could you please post a link to one of them? so i roughly know what i am looking for? as it is i am clueless on how to word the search. Thanks for your help!

Comment

Thanks Cube222, I managed to find some info around. However, would you know of a way to make the player walk to the very edge of the map and then load the next map and "teleport" him to the correct location? I have managed this so far with a simple teleport system in Kismet, but it gives a loading screen. Can this be achieved without a loading screen? I hope i managed to phrase well what i would like to. Thanks again

Comment

I think you will need a loading screen, or you make a Small streamed edge terrain covered in smoke. This way, only the small streamed level has to be loaded in the new map, and the big map will be streamed dynamicly. You could also make a custom loading screen, which fakes the game look.

Comment