Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

True cylinder?

Howdy artists,
    I'm a doctor not a.. erm, I mean I'm a programer, not an artist However, as a one-man-show, I'm stuck with some amount of that stuff.
    As such, I'm trying to focus on learning *just* Unreal Editor inside and out, rather than attempting to deal with UDK + maya or something.

I only have to deal with fairly basic shapes. So, I'm doing my primitive 3d "art" work, by using
    BSP brush -> slap textures on -> convert to StaticMesh

Works reasonably well... until I want to work with real curves, rather than straight edges.
    Using the preconfigured BSP shaped brush of "cylinder"... is a solid octagonal pillar, rather than a true cylinder.
    Just increasing the surface plane count wont work, because, (in addition to being a cheezy hack ) it wont let me stretch out a single texture around the full curved surface (I think?)

Can someone tip me off to a way to getting actual cylinders to work with, purely within UDK, please?

I've tried a couple of google searches, but no luck so far.

in 3d games, you NEVER use real curves, everything is made from polygons, so the most you will get, is a N-sided polyhedron, but never actual real curves

Comment

BSP is only for blocking out a level, although you can just convert to static mesh as what you were doing however, smoothing the normals doesn't work.

If you are strapped on cash, just download blender and model the things you need.

Other options are Maya and 3DsMax.

Comment

Actually, I have both max and maya for free. I just really, really hate mental context switching between two programs. I sorta have A.D.D. It's difficult enough to focus on one thing at a time.
        Blaaaaahhhh ....

Comment

Originally posted by vblanco View Post
          in 3d games, you NEVER use real curves, everything is made from polygons, so the most you will get, is a N-sided polyhedron, but never actual real curves