Transparent material seams, seeking advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Transparent material seams, seeking advice

Hello, I'm new to UDK and these forums. Please let me know if there's anything I can do to clarify my question

I've created a 60% alpha, black material for use on a race track. Think Rainbow Road meets Tron.

It looks great from a distance, but up close, there are seams. The seams do not appear at the edge of the road's individual polygons/surfaces - they appear more frequently. View full size to see what I mean:

Here is a screenshot of the material graph. The texture is the default "Black" used by UT - a 32x32 black image. Note that "Mip Gen Settings" on this texture is set to Sharpen5. Changing this property did not seem to have an effect.

I have played with **** near every option on the material. This one seemed promising:
    "Translucency Inherit Dominant Shadows From Opaque"
    Whether this material should inherit the dynamic shadows that dominant lights are casting on opaque and masked materials behind this material. This is useful for ground meshes using a translucent blend mode and depth biased alpha to hide seams
    But checking that option had no effect.

If you have any thoughts, or think that more screenshots would help, please let me know. Thanks

Just scale up the material and then see what happens -> then the seams should disappear

Comment

Try using a constant instead of a texture sample for your diffuse.

Comment

Originally posted by fighter5347 View Post
        Just scale up the material and then see what happens -> then the seams should disappear
        I'm totally new to UDK. Is this the type of scaling you're referring to:

I'll give it a try when I get home

Comment

Originally posted by James Ordner View Post
          Try using a constant instead of a texture sample for your diffuse.
          Hey James, what type of constant can plug into the diffuse slot? Vector 3?

Comment