Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Laser Emitter: How to get different colors?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Laser Emitter: How to get different colors?

So I've made a beam emitter using the tutorial here. I've made a few tweeks to the look of the emitter, and this is my current set up:

Material:
    http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...r_Material.jpg

Emitter:
    http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a1...er_Emitter.jpg

So what I want to do is set it up so that I can change the color of the laser though matinee (or some other method so that I don't have to make separate particle systems/materials for each color I want.

Sorry to say I am a noob when it comes to working with materials, so if anyone has links to guides, tutorials or videos for making materials and using matinees to change them in similar ways, or if they know a general set-up that would make this work, I'd be greatly appreciative!

What I have tried to do so far (unsuccessfully) is this:

In my material (named "LaserMaterial"), I set a VectorParameter named "Laser_Color" with it's R, G and B values set at 30 in the original material. I then created a MaterialInstanceConstant with LaserMaterial as it's parent. This allowed me to change the color of the laser using the InstanceConstant, which is close to what I want, but it feels like I'll still have to make extra copies of the particle system in order to get different colored lasers, and I won't be able to change them dynamically like I want. At this stage, I would need one MaterialInstanceConstant and one Particle System for each laser color I wanted to have.