Ran out of video memory

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ran out of video memory

I've started a map; I'm building it with Landscape, which I've never used before.

All this map has in it is a landscape, which isn't even set up with materials yet. I told the editor to build all because I was curious how the shadows would look in the small portion I had crafted so far. It was busy for a very long while, I was busy looking at stuff on the web, and the computer forcibly reboot. I opened up the editor and told it to build all again, this time with nothing else going on so I could watch it. Eventually I reach the point where it declared to me "Ran out of video memory" and the program closed itself down.

I've really got nothing in this level except some totally unfinished landscape and some lighting. If I can't get it to computer lighting for this, how can I get it to work when I cover my land with foliage?

So I'm hoping someone can tall me what major no-no I mistakenly committed so I can correct the issue and get back to work.

Here's the map file if you want to open it up for yourself.

http://calebchild.boldlygoingnowhere...oblemLevel.zip

hi I just downloaded your map and hit build all(using preview lighting) and it worked fine. it took my laptop 6:00mins to build map and 1:43mins to build lighting. also when UDK is building lighting/maps it takes a lot of processor power and you shouldn't do anything else on your computer till it's finished. if your still having problems with build all I can re upload your map(fully built but only preview lighting) so you can download it.

Comment

If he downloads the map from you fully built, the built lighting will just disappear when he adds something else.

What are your PC specs? This could have a lot to do with why it won't build for you.

Comment

true but he said he only wanted to see what a bit he crafted look's like

Comment