Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

'Skybox' Creation for Space

Aloha all,

I've been trawling the internet for the past few days on a tutorial for creating a true skybox (not a skydome), but have not been able to find one.

I am trying to create a sphere or box that will encompass my world within. The sphere or box will be mapped in a seamless starfield texture.

I have created a skybox in max that is a cube with textures rendered within but when I import it into UDK as a static mesh the textures appear on the outside and the mesh has nothing within.
    I am pulling my hair out here and I'm pretty sure I'm missing something fundamental.

Can anyone please help me out with this?! The skybox is principal is a very simple construct but I am new to UDK and need to be taken through the process step-by-step.

I would really appreciate any help that the community could give.

Thanks all.

Flip the normals for your box to face inwards instead of outward.

Comment

me and my team are having this same problem

Comment

In your modelling program you should be able to flip the normals, in 3ds max you can just apply a modifier called 'normal' to do just this. Failing that, you can make the material two sided, but that's not an ideal answer as it will make it more demanding.

Comment

The normals are flipped but still no dice. Looks great in Max but just won't translate to UDK.
          Someone out there must have done this before? I've seen demo movies for UDK Space scenes on YouTube.
          The mass effect team have done this as their galaxy map is inside of a skybox.

Comment

Mass Effect - in particular - has no skyboxes. Even if you look out the window of the Normandy, all you see is a simple mesh with a starfield texture (try moving while looking at it). If you want a skybox that is persistent, no matter what, you will need to attach a large scale sphere model - textured with the starflield - with interior faces to the camera.