Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Science-Fiction level - need help, I have some Hard edge issues!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Science-Fiction level - need help, I have some Hard edge issues!

Hi There!
    I'm a real noob with UDK and I have a few questions.
    I try to find the answer on the UDK forum or in google and I didn't find something that can help.

1. I have those artefacts when I build lighting in production quality :S

2. When I bake the lightmap in UDK it create me 3 lod's and I would like
    to know where I can tweak the distance between those Lods and where I can delete those?

Thank you very much!!!
    Cheers

Creat a second set of UV's to use specifically for the light maps, make sure that all the edges fall on the grid lines within the UV editor for your modeling program. This should at least help with the lighting issues.

I think that LOD's are done automatically by the engine, even when you've made the meshes. I'm sure some one will correct me if I'm wrong.

Comment

Hi HellClown!!!
      Thanks a lot for your help!
      But The Uvs you see in the picture its in the uv channel 2 (I change the resolution of the picture then you can see easier ).
      And I put all the Uvs (Without overlapping) inside this bold black square grid :

Thanks a lot, HellClown!
      (I dont know if you saw that you have 666 posts,
      and monday its Halloween!!! Scary!!! ).

cheers

Comment

Have you tried building with production lighting, not preview? I found that it cleared up a lot of little shadow imperfections, it does take an age to build however!

Comment

I think that the shadow artefacts are a result of the Ambient Occlusion settings in the engine.
          Are the edges where the artefacts occur part of the wall object? Or are they intersecting pieces of separate geometry?

Comment

Hi There!!!
            Thanks a lot for your help guys!!!