X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HLSL Help!

Hi all,

Long-time watcher, first time poster

I'm a pretty proficient hlsl programmer, and I'm getting into the UDK now, drooling with anticipation of producing some good stuff. I've made custom Oren-Nayar shaders, Minnaerts, Cook-Torrance and the rest, and been consistently amazed and impressed by the work of many here, especially those like ambershee and IndependentSoul who push the limit of what this engine can do!

So, of course, I want to try out some cool post effects as well, but I need a little help. A small thing, really.

How can I access the buffers for, say, a custom SSAO or SSDO effect? I have the code written, tested it out in Composer, and I'm pleased, but I can't figure out exactly how to get buffer info out of the engine.

Do I simply use the DestDepth (or equivalent) nodes in my loops, or can I declare them nakedly in the Custom node? All I need is a hint here! I'm really eager to get on with a good project I hope you will all like, but this has me hamstrung.

Hoping for a bone

Thanks

AFAIK you can only use the SceneTexture and depth buffers. UDK doesn't give access to any 'normal' buffer for example
    try using nodes when possible (they are faster than the Custom node)

Comment

Thanks for the reply!

Yeah, the custom node should only be used for certain limited functions; in my case, only things like loops that can't be coded with nodes. The main problem with it is lack of folding, which is completely understandable!

However, you MUST be able to access normals in some form, since ambershee and IndependentSoul have both produced their own SSAO effects which require the use of normal lookups per pixel sample to operate. I'm guessing they used the CameraVector node or something like it to get a normal-per-pixel value, but I don't know how they achieved this... and they don't give much away in their threads I wonder if they or anyone else could just give a clue on that little nugget...?