UDK platform game requirements!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

UDK platform game requirements!

Hi! I have been searching for a week now (without success) for somethings I need for my UDK platform game. I really need to: 1: Change the Jumpz. 2: have some kind of a point pickup system (like in mario or crash bandicoot (coins and apples)) and 3: I need some kind of "game over system" where I either win or loose the level".

I know that there are some tutorials about this but I find them either to old for my version (3d buzz) or that they're simply nowhere to be found!

I ask of you guys to help in anyway possible, either if it's liks to good tutorials or answers here (rather detailed if it concerns coding cause I have no experience in that yet).

Thanks in advance!

PS. If it requires scripting to accomplish these things, I really would like to get some help on just how to begin scripting, from absolute scratch, because I have no idea where to start.

Hmm i ones made this all with kisment also had a collectable system.
    Long time ago though, i don't have a clue about scripting.
    I'm more into level design, 3d and texturing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_WKx770cU0

Comment

1: Just find the JumpZ in the defaultproperties of your pawn and change it.
      2: Declare a new int variable, make an actor, make a touch function on that actor, make that touch function add 1 to the variable. (Unrealscript)
      3: Depends entirely on what you need.

Comment

Ok! But on 1 and 2 I still doesn't understand much of what you wrote, I mean I surely will but where do I begin? Is there some tutorial that shows me exactly how to do it from scratch?

And 3, well just a screen that says game over, mabye a text but I would prefer a cinematic of some form. I would have used UI scenes but they removed that I heard? So what do I use instead?

Comment

For the coin collection, I would suggest doing this (in Kismet):
          -place the 'coin' in the level