Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

X-ray/thermal vision, and/or per-object bloom?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

X-ray/thermal vision, and/or per-object bloom?

Hello,

I am working on a "thermal"/x-ray vision effect, where the player can use a special vision mode to see certain "hot" objects and enemies behind walls. It may be unrealistic but whatever! I am new to the UDK, and so far I have encountered two main problems.

1. How to make objects visible through walls
    2. How to do a "thermal" map effect

For issue #1, one option for making everything visible through a wall might be a really heavy scripting technique to duplicate things, move them to another location in the level, capture them with a scenecapture actor, and overlay them. I verified that this could produce ghostly overlay images, but I really want to avoid scenecapture if possible, plus I do not need the full "x-ray".

I finally learned about the depth priority group setting on static meshes. This let me dynamically change an option to make some meshes visible to the player, and I messed with the material effects to get a simple "heat" effect on the emissive channel. Unfortunately this means that the original material is ALSO seen through the wall. The next step in this plan is to make objects that have the potential to be seen by thermal vision always have a duplicate static mesh. That duplicate mesh could be hidden most of the time, but displayed with the "heat" material at other times. I have not yet tested whether it is feasible to completely lock two static meshes together like this, so that a spinning physics barrel will move the second mesh in sync with it.

Does anyone have any advice about the approaches above, whether the double-mesh thing seems like it could have unforeseen problems, and/or whether there are other ways to attack the "thermal" through-wall vision problem?