Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

crimson's thread of questions

Hello!

I'm presently working on a level with UDK, the November version. I opened this thread to host all the questions that might arise during development.

Without further ado:

1. Importing Collision for Static Meshes from Maya.

Now, I've read the UDN page on Collision but I seem to be doing something wrong because my collision mesh doesn't get "translated" by the engine and remains part of the static one. To exemplify:

I created a cube 100x100x100 cm in Maya called cube155. Then I created another cube 256x256x256 cm and renamed it UCX_cube155. Next I triangulated both meshes and deleted the history.
    Then I exported them with "axmesh" and the following options: "selected items only", "obey hard edges" and "consolidate output geometry".
    Then I imported them in the UDK, both with and without the "bOneConvexPerUCXObject" option.

Any ideas?

Thank you!

cc

I am still learning this stuff too, so take this with a grain of salt. uncheck consolidate output geometry. I believe this option makes it all one mesh but really you want it to be two separate meshes, the actual mesh, and the collision mesh. This should still export as only one file with 2 parts. Then when you import use the bOneConvexPerUCXObject option.

Comment

Thanks for the reply shatty! That did indeed work.

I've got a new one: what's the best way to simulate neon light? Creating a emissive material gives it the look, but it doesn't cast any light. Point lights have a spherical radius which kind of goes against the neon shape.

Closest I came to was using two spotlights, one at each end, with a small cone radius. It's still a bit off because you get more light in the middle.

Any ideas?

Much appreciated!

cc

Comment

There are 2 ways to do it:

You tell udk that this material emmisive emits light (it will work as light source), just search udn for how to do it.