Noob directional light question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Noob directional light question

In the picture: a simple terrain and a single BSP mesh.

there is only one light in the scene and that is a dominant directional light movable.

I'm trying to get good shadows while rotating it. I'm new to UDK and I want to create a simple night and day map first.

So, I have the rotation going with Matinee and all, but when light rays get close to horizontal, shadows start to flicker and get really weird.

I can of course remove dynamic shadows, but then I won't get any shadows from my BSP's.

This is probably some setting I don't know about. I played with the settings on the actual light, I also changed some settings on the terrain and the BSP.

The only thing that seems to change the way those shadows look is the cascaded shadow setting. But all it does is decrease/increase shadow resolutions from what I've seen. And the flicker is the dynamis shadows glitching.

So, what's the setting that I missed?

Or do developers normally disable the dynamic light channels on these basic components and then add shadows to static meshes/foliage?

I just tested this and got similar results, I found LightComponent.ShadowFilterQuality SFQ_Medium helped a little.

With a much more fleshed out level its a lot less noticeable but it is still present.
    I'm curious what others will say.
    Also once you add a second light for the moon cycle and a skylight it should be even less noticeable.

Comment

It it extremely annoying when it approaches a vertical point during the day, as my BSP brush has a similar effect. I also experience weird issues like random spots getting light everywhere, plants having a grainy flickering outline, the shadow being too low res or the opposite - grainy.

Or whole walls can flicker in and out or get a circle with weird lines on it. All sorts of random things that shouldn't be happening.

I can't get the settings right.