Terrain Material Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Terrain Material Question

Sorry if this is a stupid question, I am new to the UDK, but why would my custom material that i created (an instance of a master material, just with a different diffuse texture) not have the specular/normal maps when used as a terrain material? but when i apply it to a brush it works fine.

i also notice some default UDK materials do work as a terrain material even with spec/norm maps. any help is appreciated, and below is a screen shot of it. on the left is a brush with the material applied and it looks how i want. on the right is the terrain.

also after i do a full build there is this error: "TERRAIN MATERIAL: Texture parameter name duplication - Diffuse" and "TERRAIN MATERIAL: Texture parameter name duplication - Normal", but i doubt these errors are the problem.

There's an option in the layer setup to turn terrain normal and specular mapping on I believe. Or it might be in the light settings.

I know there's an option you need to tick somewhere. The name is really obvious, so when you see it, you know it's the one.

Comment

I seen you can enable specular in the terrain properties, and that worked, but i don't see anywhere you can enable the normal map. anyways it turned out to be my material.

my detail normal map is disabled by default in the parent (master) material by a parameter. and even though i have it enabled in my material instance that the terrain uses, and it works on brushes, it will not show up on terrain.

might be a bug, might be something i am doing wrong still, not sure.

and my other error was just a duplicate material parameter name of course. anyways thanks for your time Graylord

Comment

Terrains and switches don't work.
        I made a post about it a while back here: http://forums.epicgames.com/showthread.php?t=747568