How to import a Static Mesh with 2 or more materials

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to import a Static Mesh with 2 or more materials

Hi, I have made a simple moniter on 3DS Max and as its only a simple model, it just needs 2 materials (which are set on 3DS Max), one for the screen and one for the body of the moniter. When I import the mesh though into UDK, it just has one material instead of the 2. How do I export the model from 3DS Max to make this work (or have I got to do something else)?

I know I can do a UVW map but I am not very good at these as I dont really know how to do these and also I thought because it is a simple model, surely the way I am doing it would be easier and better (especially as the screen if shiny whereas the body isnt).

Can anybody help me?

importing mesh to udk imports only geometry nd uv coordinates, it does not import textures/materials.

to put all together in udk you need:
    - export and then import mesh , this is what you are doing now

- then export both materials from max as texture (power of 2 size, tga, 32bit)
    - or paint both textures in photoshop

- when you have textures ready make materials out of them in udk and apply to mesh

Or search for tutorials on internets and follow one of them.

Comment

Originally posted by Nawrot View Post
      importing mesh to udk imports only geometry nd uv coordinates, it does not import textures/materials.

to put all together in udk you need:
      - export and then import mesh , this is what you are doing now

- then export both materials from max as texture (power of 2 size, tga, 32bit)
      - or paint both textures in photoshop

- when you have textures ready make materials out of them in udk and apply to mesh

Or search for tutorials on internets and follow one of them.