Programmer in Trouble with Decals

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Programmer in Trouble with Decals

Alright, right off the bat, I am COMPLETELY NOOB with graphics whatsoever. This is my first time even in this sub-section, so please excuse my noobiness, (and yes I did see the stupid 3dbuzz videos, they weren't much of a help with my issue) . I am pretty much a one man team right now, working on a survival game of mine, I got the scripts down (I am a programmer) and I like the way it is. I focus on my game mechanics first, but today I decided, well, let's add some polish to the game . So I am trying to make some cool decals materials to show off with my custom AI, kind of like ghost recon, when you tell your squad to move or fire, it puts a "decal" on the ground where they are going to go, that I what I am going for here So I have VERY minimal skills in graphics , etc. , so I made my 512x512 image for a player decal (that will be displayed underneath the player) in photoshop. The image is VERY simple, its a biohazard seen with a filter effect. It is ONE layer, with anything NOT the biohazard sign itself transparent. I saved this as a TARGA, same 512x512 image size. I went into the content browser, and I imported this texture, and it came up with a WHITE background in UDK, while the background in Photoshop is really that transparent checkerboard thing. So I know how to make simple materials, I right clicked, ,made a new decal material, selected my texture and made a texture sample. Sorry for the long story, but here is my problem...:

I cannot get the white background to be transparent.