Are speedtree suppose to look like this

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Are speedtree suppose to look like this

I'm pretty new to speedtree and I'm trying it out in UDK. Are the billboards supposed to look like this?

I tried all settings and couldn't managed to get the billboard to look any less retarded than it is atm. The right side tree is the stock tree that came with UDK, while the left is a built from scratch tree.

So are there any way to make billboard looks better, at the moment, the edges are really really sharp when posed on the sky as background.

from a generic standpoint Billboards can look like anything. All Billboards are are planes that face the player at all times. Generally billboards are of low detail and are used to take the place of expensive high detailed actors. I don't know about speed tree, but perhaps it's trying to give you the low end uglys and expects you to keep them at a distance.

For research (if no one more educated comes to help) Red Orchestra and Oblivion are games with great billboarding on terrain.

Comment

No. You have problems with your textures (TEXTURES, not materials). Try to play with texture settings. I really do not remember which one to change, but you try it yourself.

Comment

Iniside is talking about the Dither Mip-Map option when you import a speed tree texture.

Comment

ahh okay... tried it...

it looked a bit better. but still looked very messed up, mainly because of the lighting, can't seem to get it close to the billboards in oblivion. Anyone knows the recommended texture settings. been trying a few settings up to now.

Comment

what's with the lighting? I wonder is there a solution to this or do we have to strategically place speedtrees at a vaguely lighted area.

Comment

Are you using a pointlight to light your scene?

Comment

Originally posted by Daiboken View Post
                Are you using a pointlight to light your scene?