Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Level Proportions

Hello,
    I am a total noob on level design and I was wondering on how to draw realistic levels. My basic problem is that they usually look too big ot too small (for example too high or too long corridors).

Has anybody an idea on how a UDK editor unit corresponds in meters for example (using the standard UDK Pawn height).

I found out by myself that a square of 256x256 is 2 square meters since the pawn looks like to be tall as 256. Am I right?

Thanks for the help,

Mattias.

1uu is equal to 2cm.

The scale of the level however should not be 1:1, due to how we perceive the real world compared to a FPS game. Normally the scale will need to be at least 1.5x bigger in game, so for visual purposes it appears correct.

Placing a vehicle, or a character mesh in the level can help with the scaling of things when you're designing the level layout.

Another thing you will need to consider, is working to the grid, your level design will be so much easier if you keep everything (especially CSG) snapped to a large a grid as possible, textures scale better, meshes scale easier, and the game dynamics should be based around the grid to make level design easier.

So you need to strike a balance, what looks right, what feels right, and what you have when working with a large grid.

Comment

Try placing the Skeletal Mesh robot in your scene, thats your player height. And remember that your FPS camera is a little bit higher than that robot. So try make stuff so that he has some room to the ceiling. I find that 256 walls are easiest to work with.

Comment

While it is correct that 1uu is 2cm, the default pawn in UDK is 196uu. So even if you work out the conversion, your default character would be 196cm tall which is about 6.4feet. It is a size of a basketball player. So compensate for that as well.

Comment

Originally posted by plugh View Post
          1uu is equal to 2cm.