Realistic Lighting.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Realistic Lighting.

I'm new to Unreal's lighting philosophy. It seems very complex compared to other systems.

I want to get a minimalistic "realistic" lighting setup going. That means I want lights that cast shadows from static and dynamic objects, cast those shadows onto static and dynamic objects. I don't want any kind of "cheating" where multiple lights get combined into one, or any of that convoluted stuff.

The documentation on lighting is confusing. There's lots of it, but it's all over the place and it's hard to work it out. There seem an excessive number of options. I've done a few tests but the results are strange, often only one light will cast shadows, shadows will go through walls, or multiple shadow volumes will create errors, rendering incorrectly.

So how do I create lights that cast both static and dynamic shadows and don't do some trickery that merges them or such?

Edit: Going through http://udn.epicgames.com/Three/LightingReference.html step by step I think I have to

1. Set "Cast Composite Shadows" to false so that multiple lights don't get combined.
    2. Set "Cast Dynamic Shadows", "Cast Shadows" and "Cast Static Shadows" to true.
    3. Set "Light Shadow Mode" to "LightShadow_Normal"

I'll see how this goes.

The problem with 'realistic' lighting is that if every light was casting dynamically, the frame-rate would drop significantly. The UDK system works so that only one "dominant" light casts dynamic shadows while a bunch of other lights cast static shadows. The results look fantastic, but setting it up is a pain.

Comment

Oh, I didn't know the dominant light casts dynamic shadows. Is that on by default?

Comment

I still can't get it to work.