Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

[Tutorial] Creating input zones through Kismet (Buttons, joysticks etc.)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[Tutorial] Creating input zones through Kismet (Buttons, joysticks etc.)

First of all, this is my first tutorial here, I sincerely hope it'll help you guys. Mr. Smith asked me to further clarify the implementation of a button through Kismet since the UDN still doesn't have any implementation walkthroughs, so I decided to do somewhat of a tutorial/walkthrough to illustrate how you can create some UI/input here.

This tutorial is more of a practical nature because the whole thing is pretty intuitive once you get a hang of it. We'll implement a button! This is tutorial is meant for those who actually know how to use UnrealEd, it's not an introduction to UDK in general and/or Kismet.

I am not an expert, not even close, just sharing my bits and crumbles as I learn to work with this engine. So, let's begin then!

1. Make a quick map, you have a pretty good starting place with SimpleCourtyard if you wish to use it instead.

2. Now we are going to import a button, you can use mine:
    http://www.doublebuffer.org/tut_imaging/button1.png

Really simple, just to make a point. Also, I burned some random text into it. Take that, import it into UDK, make sure it's LOD group is set to UI so it registers the alpha because of it's shape.

If you want to make yours, make sure they are a power of 2 (mine for example is 128x64), otherwise UDK is going to slap you in the face.

3. Alright, it's in? Now it's time to get to the fun stuff. Most of you want to get rid of the standard .ini based, add a Clear Input Zones action from New Action -> Mobile.

4. Now it's time to actually get busy making new input stuff, go back to New Action -> Mobile. and pick up an action called "Add input zone".