Announcement

Collapse

The Infinity Blade Forums Have Moved

We've launched brand new Infinity Blade forums with improved features and revamped layout. We've also included a complete archive of the previous posts. Come check out the new Infinity Blade forums.
See more
See less

Sketchup to UDK = Feasable?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Sketchup to UDK = Feasable?

I made this building model in Sketchup a while back and I wondered if it's possible to make it into something I can walk around.

Tell me what you think or if there's too much brushwork or something and I'd be wasting my time. I'm a complete novice with modelling tools and UDK.

https://3dwarehouse.sketchup.com/mod...449334236ed738

um... you can export as fbx from sketchup. I usually go via 3dsmax because sketchpu tends to mess up the verts and they need rewelding.

Comment

Well there's loads of verts in this model so am I looking at lots and lots of work? I'm wondering how it'll run as well. Might not even be worth it on this computer because it's only a dual core.

Comment

For work it will work.Im reading 62,099 polygons(are you refering to triangles?)Any way udks limit of importing a mesh is 65000 triangles so you will be able to import it.On the other way if this is a building with no interior for you to enter its waay to high poly.Shoud be less.Do it and see the result.On the other hand in the future if you want to make buildings in which you can enter(games ore arquitecture)furst make the bulding low poly from the outside and another separate mesh for the interior and combine them in udk.

Comment

No idea about the triangles and what it's all made of.

I could strip out the insides, they're not that important.

It's not for a game, I just want a way to look around it in realtime with reflections and proper lighting. I tried rendering it with a few different Sketchup tools but they results were really **** and took ages. But thanks.

Comment