pure Rhino to UDK pipeline?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

pure Rhino to UDK pipeline?

As an architecture student I'm absolutely in love with the possibility of having a real-time interactive presentation. I've tried learning 3ds Max, since it seems to be the standard modeling program for game engines, but I'm having zero success. Are there any differences with modeling in Rhino 4 instead, such as modeling, applying UV maps, texturing, and exporting process? Are there things I can't do when exporting to UDK from Rhino? I'm much more familiar with learning Rhino, since it's more of an architectural design tool than an animation/game design tool; plus I wouldn't have to learn two programs.

If there are Rhino users out there who successfully do UDK projects with Rhino meshes, I'd love to hear how you do it. But everyone is free to answer.

I have never heard about Rhino, but does it export in .ASE ? if yes then that's all you need to export static meshes,

Comment

Never used Rhino myself, but it says you can export and import fbx with Rhino so you're good to go i think.

Comment

Never heard of Rhino, last time I checked 3ds Max Design was the standard for architecture.

Comment

Rhino is actually VERY popular with Architects and designers. The only people that use MAX in Architecture are using it for visualization. Rhino and Sketchup are the most popular, I'd think with some using Revit Architecture or CAD software (Autocad or Microstation)and some using FormZ. I don't know that I've ever received a .max file from an architect.
          As for the pipleine, i'm not entirely sure. I don't know if Rhino can create unique lightmap channels to be used with lightmass. I also haven't the first clue on getting the scales to match between the UDK's 1 uu = 2cm and Rhino's Foot/Meter based scale. However, the FBX file SHOULD work fairly well if you can tackle those issues.

Comment