Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Stealth puzzle-platformer: is the UDK what I need?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stealth puzzle-platformer: is the UDK what I need?

Hi there,

I am an indie game developer that currently works on a first-person puzzle with elements of stealth. I have no much experience in 3D game development, save some small 3D demo scenes and a 2D game I made when I was in a high school. At the time I am on my last course of the particle accelerator physics department in the Moscow Engineering-Physics Institute. So game development is just my big hobby. I am working alone at the time.

Taking into account my experience in game development, being not funded and working alone I tried to design a game that would not require tons of content (like textures, models, animations, sounds and so on) and put efforts to design original game mechanics and sophisticated levels. In other words, I tried to design a game that would be feasible for me to implement.

So far I have designed basic game mechanics, the gun and two conceptual levels. I am working openly, so you can find the description of the game on my GitHub page https://github.com/duburlan/MW/wiki/Game-concept. I have not stuffed the gameplay with lots of elements yet, because it would be a waste of time if this concept fails.

Initially I planned to make an HL2 mod, because there is some content I could use to create a demo and the Source engine fits my needs as well. The problem is that Valve does not tell what are their conditions for those who want to sell mods. Licensing a several thousand dollars engine then realizing that people do not buy the game is not wise and affordable for an indie developer. I sent them two emails with questions but no answer so far.