Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

how to make my horror level design stand out?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how to make my horror level design stand out?

Ok hi everyone, I'm a lone designer/builder/everything else so I was wondering what's the best way to go about making a horror game?

Firstly I'm not asking about newbie questions like how to use UDK since I know a fair bit but not a pro at it.

Anyway I'm trying to go for a old school Resident Evil style gameplay while trying to figure out the best techniques to go about it.

I have been testing out the camera system and attempted to use seamless tiles but none of my work give off a scary feeling.

Also I have a blog that I try to update sometimes planning to update it again at a later time, maybe later tuesday night/wednesday.

Check out my blog.

http://www.moddb.com/games/evilproductions

I do have to hand something by wednesday for my University but this is a on going project to help me improve my skills to get me into the game industry.

well i guess one of the things you could start on is getting familiar with UDKs decal system or such things as blood splatter on the walls and such. another thing is grunge.....make it all dirty lol!

Comment

I believe it's because the assets are still placeholders.
      Do you have concept arts or storyline yet?
      It'll be easier for others to tell you how to get closer to your goal.

The elements I find scary in games like Dead Space, RE, Bioshock, Manhunt, and many others...are

1. Sounds
      Sometimes the sound effects were more scary than the visual
      examples: Creepy music, baby crying in the background, footsteps behind you

2. Surprise events
      examples: Ambush, Giant chasing you, pop-ups from doors and windows, quick moving shadows

3. Environment and settings