Platform game

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Platform game

Hi everyone, I thought I'd share with you all a video of a project I'm currently working on: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dF7k4re0ERE

(Sorry about the framerate - I'm running on a netbook)

The concept is like a 2.5d platformer, but instead of being limited to left and right, you can actually turn into the screen at certain intersections (either by clicking on arrows which pop up, or, as in later in the video, by just using the up/down arrow keys). As you can no doubt tell, I am no artist and the level design is atrocious at best. However, I've made this proof of concept because I think that it could be a really fun type of game.

I think that this concept would be especially suited to an RPG style game, as you could deploy 2d platform elements without gutting your ability to make an immersive and explorable world. However, I think that this would add a nice touch to any 2.5d platformer out there.

I don't think that I will be able to take this concept much further, given my total lack of artistic ability. However, I would love for someone else to pick up this concept and make a fun game out of it or incorporating it, which is why I'm posting here.

I'd love to hear everyone's opinions/comments!

This is very, very cool. It wasn't made in kismet was it?

Comment

Nah, I didn't use any Kismet for this, its all unrealscript. Truth be told I haven't learned how to use kismet yet, though from what I've seen I seriously doubt kismet would handle it, and even if it could, we're talking over 1000 lines of code here: it would be a pain in the *** to make that work in a graphical environment.

I uploaded another video of this for another thread in order to demo transparent walls: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOjVY0OXr3U

Comment

Originally posted by CaptAmazing View Post